Exhausted.

This was a far too busy week.

I had no updates because I had no computer and I debated updating tonight because I’m so tired but I figure I have a little in me.  I interviewed for and was offered a new job this week which is very exciting and very stressful.  I’ve only been back at work two weeks and I am settling back in a bit and now I’m going to be in a completely different position.  It’s an incredible opportunity to do what I have wanted to do so I will not complain but I may be completely drained.

Carter had a great week.  He’s suddenly grown up so much.  He has been much more agreeable during the days, he is enjoying his nanny and he loves his time with his Mama while I’m at work.  He’s learning all sorts of new tricks and pulling himself up and crawling around.  He is always on a mission to do something.  He spends much more time entertained by things without fussing or growing frustrated.  It’s fantastic!  We brought him to a baby shower on Saturday where he hung out for over two hours.  He charmed everyone, he ate an entire sandwich, he crawled around a bit and he played with a water bottle for about 20 minutes straight.  He was in a great mood and was just so easy.  He’s growing independent and crawling away from me instead of into my lap.  It’s a strange combination of feeling proud and feeling a little heartbroken.

Image

Night times have not been so good.  He has been waking up crying throughout the night for the past week and then a few nights ago he figured out how to pull himself up in bed.  While the pride on his face is adorable, it also means that bedtime has gotten rough.  It’s pretty hard to fall asleep when you are standing and no matter how many times I lay him down he just climbs right back up.  It took 2 hours to get him down last night.

Image

Carter’s new food that he loves is “pancakes”.  I had come across the idea in many places but never tried the two ingredient pancakes but on Saturday morning when i wasn’t sure what to give him I thought I’d give it a shot!  One banana and 2 eggs mushed together and you’ve got your batter.  It really couldn’t be any easier!  Carter smooshes them into his mouth as quickly as possible.  I love when I find something he likes!

Image

I think the saddest part of my week was when I was talking to Daniela about her experience at the drop-in.  I brought Carter to play at the drop-ins on a regular basis.  Daniela went to one she had never been to before that is just for babies under a year and was excited for the circle time.  Unfortunately she was met with a “daddy-bashing”.  In her words, everyone was talking about their partners as though they were incompetent parents.  Her discomfort made her feel like I must be there talking about her like that which just broke my heart.  I’m not going to lie, sometimes we all have to vent out our partners but I would never hang her out to be an incompetent parent.  There is obviously no one else I trust as much with my son and I hate that even for a second she would internalize that and think the I thought so poorly of her.

2 thoughts on “Exhausted.

  1. That photo of him in his high chair just blows my mind. He looks like a boy and less baby.

    I always hate the “daddy bashing”, too. Everyone needs to vent about their partner, but the bashing takes it way too far. I find it strange that that is what a group of women do when they get together.

Leave a comment