What Makes a Baby – Part 1

I don’t think that I’ve ever talked about the book What Makes a Baby, but I might be wrong. When I was pregnant with Carter a kickstarter came out about the book and I was intrigued. The vision was to make a book that covered how babies were made for everyone and aim it towards children. It took the most basic information, kept everything gender neutral, and allowed room for further discussion.

I got on board. Having been an egg donor before baby making myself I always felt there was a gap in readily available information for children that are results of fertility treatments, adoption, surrogacy, etc. The old “when a mom and dad love each other very much…” line doesn’t really work for a lot of people.

whatmakesababy

When the book came in the mail we are amazed at how beautiful it was. So colourful and fun. Daniela and I really enjoyed it (I think she may have even read it to people at our baby shower because she liked it so much).

We put it on the shelf and didn’t think much of it for a long while (aside recommending it to people). Around his second birthday Carter selected it to read. I hesitated for a second then realized I didn’t know why I was and went ahead to read it to him. We talked a lot on some of the pages. When is asks “who helped bring together the sperm and the egg that made you” we talked with him about donor dude and the friends who helped coordinate donations. We talked about doctors that had helped us figure out options and best prepare my body for pregnancy. When we got to the end where is asks “Who was waiting for you to be born” the list was endless. Carter began requesting the book on a regular basis. He started asking questions and really wondering about things which was surprising for me while he is so young. We still read it (though less frequently than when he was first introduced) but he is firmly aware that you need a sperm, an egg, a uterus and a bunch of awesome people who love you.

I highly recommend this book to anyone but especially to people with a less “traditional” baby making story.

One day I tried to grab a video of Carter saying that you need an egg, sperm and uterus to make a baby to send to my brother who thought it was totally awesome that he knew that but instead I got the following:

Translation: “the egg, the sperm and uhh Beth, Alison and Donor Dude.”

13 thoughts on “What Makes a Baby – Part 1

  1. I’ve seen that book mentioned somewhere else, too. Just ordered it- it sounds great!

    “the egg, the sperm and uhh Beth, Alison and Donor Dude.” – that is too funny!

  2. I love love love this book, and we brought Cory out to speak at the conference my organization holds a few years back. He was incredible! So smart, adj thoughtful, so creative and passionate about making sex education accessible to more families. As Shawns said above, the new book is also amazing!

  3. I have had this on our wish list for a long time! I will have to get it soon. Wallace was really into a book called My Body. I showed him the picture on my new banner that is really pregnant me and told him that he grew inside my uterus in my belly. He thought I was in crack.

  4. I’ve been meaning to buy this book for a while – this post reminded me, and made me even more excited about the book. I felt like our baby (who is due tomorrow) wouldn’t understand the book for a long while, but it is so neat that your son read the book at such a young age. The questions it asks sound great. I think all children like to hear about their origins, and about how loved and wanted they are.

    • I think it’s REALLY wonderful to talk about what really matters with your kids. I think that no matter what the circumstance of a child being “made” is there are people happy that they are who they are and that they arrived.

  5. Pingback: What Makes a Baby – Part 2 | Started in the Belly

Leave a comment